Making Laundry Soap, Take One!!!

Published March 10, 2012 by pinkpossibilities

I have decided to finally try my hands at making my own laundry soap. Which there will be pictures of the steps and results .

Supplies Needed:

1 bar of soap (of any kind you want)

1 cup of Borax (you can find this in the laundry soap aisle)

1 cup of washing soda (also in laundry soap aisle)

a big pot (that holds more than 2 gallons)

a grater

a funnel

a long wooden spoon

2 empty gallon jugs/containers

I took a little trip to the store(s).  Big Lots, Desert Industries and then Walmart.

I started at Big lots hoping to find the pot and grater for  a low, low price. But I didn’t find any of my supplies so far at Big Lot. One store down two to go. Next off to DI (desert industries – thrift store). I found a grater for $1.00 (pats myself on back), but no used large pot. dang it all. so my last store was Walmart. This is where I found an 8 quart stockpot $6.44, a wooden spoon $.88, funnel $.87, Zest (3 pack) $1.98. Washing soda $2.98 and Borax $2.12.

A Grand total of $17.22 after tax.

After this initial purchase (since I now will already own the pot, spoon, funnel and grater). My estimated cost is $6.00 for 576 loads (depending on soap used and amount used per load, 1 box of Borax and washing soda)

The savings is incredible.

Now we get to the process of making the laundry soap.

1st shot- I took the bar of soap and using my trusty grater, shredded the whole bar.

Then I placed it in my nice new shiny soap pot.

Once you put the soap flakes in the pot. You add 1 gallon of water and cook until the soap dissolves.

Now that your soap is dissolved. You add 1 cup Borax and 1 cup washing soda. You will notice a nice bubbly froth. Turn the Heat up and stir occasionally until it bubbles. That’s your que to now take it off the burner. Once off the burner add another gallon of water and then you can use a funnel and a cup to pour into your containers. It will take up to 24 hours to thicken.

I placed a 1/2 on my washer to measure out soap for loads. It has been working fantastic and so much cheaper.

Leave a Reply

