Pirate Food Labels

Published April 10, 2012 by pinkpossibilities

Today I made the pirate food labels for my upcoming “Pirate Party”.

First things first I sat down with a notepad and pen and wrote down all of my dishes and sweets I planned on having.  Then I did some research on the web and a lot of thinking to come up with some funny and entertaining names for my food.

A few examples were: Goonie Dubloon’s, Beware the Shark punch. etc.

Next I pulled up word on my computer and found a Pirate like font and typed all of the names out and printed them on a cream colored card stock sheet.

I wanted to rough up the edges a bit and make the paper look a little older without having to go to the long process of using teabags to age them.
so I grabbed a Distress Ink Pad. The one I used was Tim Holz’s Walnut stain.

Freshly printed, this is how the label looks:

After applying the distress ink around the edges and scuffing the top a bit, it looks like the label has been around since the days of the Barbary Pirates.


Next it was time to mount each of the food tags onto 2 other pieces of paper to add color and depth. So I used a sheet of black card stock and a sheet of scrapbook paper from Rusty Pickle called Mayflower.

I glued my name sheet to the striped paper first then after cutting around the edges. I then glued in onto the black paper.

My next step was to add holes to each side so that I could attach the label to the container. Now I don’t plan on putting holes in all of them because I plan on putting some of the labels next to the plate instead.

I wanted to add one more touch to my labels so I decided to use bronzed mica flakes from Stampendous. I dabbed a little bit of glue where I wanted to apply the fragments.  After that I used a q tip. dampened a little on one end, to grab the flakes and apply them.



These are some shots of what the label will look like once you have wrapped the twine around the container. This is my apothecary cooler. I plan on having my “Beware the Shark” punch in it. I wanted you to see how the twine is wrapped around the container and holds the label on the front.


And here is a back shot.

Leave a Reply

